12.-Lieutenant-Governors of Provinces, 1867-1942, and Present Ministries

Note.—The Lieutenant-Governor of a province is styled "His Honour" and is also styled "Honourable" throughout his life. Legislatures and Ministries from Confederation to 1923 will be found at pp. 75-84 of the 1924 Year Book, and for 1924-87 at pp. 110-118 of the 1938 Year Book. When two or more dates are shown for the appointment of a Minister, the first denotes the original appointment to the Ministry and the second or last to the portfolio held at present.

PRINCE EDWARD ISLAND LIEUTENANT-GOVERNORS

Name	Date of Appointment	Name	Date of Appointment
W. C. F. Robinson. Sir Robert Hodgson. Thomas H. Haviland. Andrew Archibald Macdonald. Jedediah S. Carvell. George W. Howlan. P. A. McIntyre. D. A. Mackinnon.	July 4, 1874 July 14, 1879 Aug. 1, 1884 Sept. 21, 1889 Feb. 21, 1894 May 13, 1899	Murdock McKinnon Frank R. Heartz Charles Dalton George D. Deblois	June 2, 1915 Sept. 3, 1919 Sept. 8, 1924 Nov. 29, 1930 Dec. 28, 1933

TWENTY-FIRST MINISTRY

Office	Name	Date of Appointment	
Premier, Provincial Secretary-Treasurer, Attorney and Advocate General. President of the Executive Council. Minister of Public Works and Highways. Minister of Agriculture. Minister of Education and Public Health. Minister without portfolio. Minister without portfolio. Minister without portfolio. Minister without portfolio. Minister without portfolio.	Hon. Horace Wright	Aug. Jan. Aug. Aug. Aug. Sept.	15, 1935 14, 1936 14, 1939 14, 1939 8, 1940 15, 1935 14, 1936 15, 1935 15, 1935 15, 1935 14, 1939 14, 1939

NOVA SCOTIA LIEUTENANT-GOVERNORS

Name	Date of Appointment	Name	Date of Appointment
LtGen. Sir William F. Williams Major-Gen. Sir C. Hastings Doyle LtGen. Sir C. Hastings Doyle Joseph Howe Sir Adams G. Archibald Matthew Henry Richey A. W. McLelan Sir Malachy Bowes Daly Sir Malachy Bowes Daly Alfred G. Jones Duncan C. Fraser	Oct. 18, 1867 Jan. 31, 1868 1 May 1, 1873 July 4, 1873 July 4, 1883 July 9, 1888 July 11, 1890 July 29, 1895 1 Aug. 7, 1900	David MacKeen MacCallum Grant MacCallum Grant J. Robson Douglas James C. Tory Frank Stanfield Walter H. Covert Robert Irwin Frederick F. Mathers, K.C.	Oct. 19, 1915 Nov. 29, 1916 Mar. 21, 1922 ¹ Jan. 23, 1925 Sept 24, 1925 Dec. 2, 1930 Oct. 5, 1931

¹ Second term.

THIRTEENTH MINISTRY

Note.—Ministers who have held office continuously are shown as at the date of original appointment, despite the formation of a new Ministry consequent upon the appointment of a new Premier.

Office	Name		Date of Appointment	
Premier and President of Council, Provincial Secretary and Treasurer. Attorney General, Minister of Lands and Forests, and Minister of Municipal Affairs. Minister of Agriculture and Marketing. Minister of Public Health. Minister of Mines and Minister of Labour. Minister of Highways and Public Works. Minister of Industry and Publicity. Minister without portfolio.	Hon. A. Stirling MacMillan Hon. Josiah H. MacQuarrie, K.C. Hon. John A. McDonald Hon. Frank R. Davis, M.D., C.M. Hon. Lauchlin D. Currie, K.C. Hon. John D. McKenzie Hon. Harold Connolly Hon. J. Willie Comeau	Feb.	10, 1940 5, 1933 5, 1933 5, 1933 6, 1939 24, 1941 24, 1941 5, 1933	